Crossbench

What happened?

Parliament passed the House of Lords (Hereditary Peers) Act 2026, removing the remaining link between holding a hereditary peerage and membership of the House of Lords. It received Royal Assent on 18 March 2026.

The House of Lords Act 1999 had already removed most hereditary peers but allowed 92 to remain. Their membership ended when the 2024–26 session of Parliament closed on 29 April 2026.

Relevant factual details

  • VerifiedRoyal Assent on 18 March 2026 as the House of Lords (Hereditary Peers) Act 2026 (c. 12).
  • VerifiedThe Act removes hereditary peers’ right to sit and vote in the Lords, makes provision about resignation and ends the Lords’ jurisdiction over claims to hereditary peerages.
  • Source to checkThe House of Lords Act 1999 had allowed 92 hereditary peers to remain.
  • VerifiedHereditary peers’ membership ceased at the end of the 2024–26 session on 29 April 2026.
  • ReportedFull Fact reported that, to secure the bill’s passage, some former hereditary members were to receive life peerages.

Verified Confirmed against an original or authoritative source
Reported Taken from a secondary or reference source; to be confirmed against the original
Source to check Established knowledge, but the cited source has not yet been opened

Why is it politically significant?

The Act completes the reform begun in 1999. The Lords is now made up of appointed life peers and Church of England bishops, which sharpens the debate about whether an unelected second chamber is legitimate.

Arguments and counterarguments

Which arguments does it support?

Reform since 1997 has made the House of Lords more legitimate

Reasoning
Membership by inheritance is hard to justify in a democracy.
Evidence
The 2026 Act ended hereditary membership altogether.
How it supports the argument
Removing the last hereditary members takes away the least defensible basis of membership.

UK constitutional reform is incremental and piecemeal

Reasoning
The uncodified constitution changes through ordinary legislation, step by step.
Evidence
A reform begun in 1999 was completed by a separate Act 27 years later.
How it supports the argument
The two stages show reform by gradual statute rather than a single constitutional settlement.

Which counterarguments exist?

Alternative view

The chamber is still unelected

Critics argue the democratic deficit remains, because members are now appointed rather than elected.

Other explanations

Appointment may strengthen the executive

With the hereditary route gone, membership depends more heavily on appointments, which some argue increases prime ministerial patronage.

Limits of the evidence

The reform was negotiated

Reported life peerages for some former hereditary members suggest the change was softened to secure the bill’s passage.

Concepts and connections

Sources and verification

Event18 March 2026 (Royal Assent)
Added to bank4 November 2026
Last checked4 November 2026
Next check due4 May 2027
  1. 1
    Publisher Westminster BriefPublished not statedType Parliamentary recordChecked 4 November 2026
    Opened
  2. 3
    Publisher Full FactPublished updated 12 May 2026Type Fact-checkerChecked 4 November 2026
    Opened
  3. 4
    Publisher legislation.gov.ukPublished not statedType LegislationChecked not yet opened
    Source to check
  4. 2
    Publisher legislation.gov.ukPublished not statedType LegislationChecked not yet opened
    Source to check

About this example

Is it still current?

Current

The facts and their significance still stand.

Why it is in the bank

The most significant change to the composition of Parliament in a generation.

  • ✓Relevance to the specification
  • ✓Strength and reliability of the evidence
  • ✓Importance to a wider political debate
  • ✓Usefulness in evaluative essays
  • ✓Connections to other topics
  • ✓Sufficiently current
  • ✓Adds something new to the bank

Editorial status

Approved

Signed off for students.

Origin: AI draft (Claude) · Reviewer: Editor

Every fact on this page has been checked against original sources.